Easter Weekend 3 – Saturday

Saturday morning was the first time in a long time that I was woken up by the sound of horses outside my camp area. It was great to hear that again. The horses had moved a little as none had visited us the day before, but they were all still in the same general area from the first guzzler on the right out to Burnt Timber Canyon. It was Galaxy’s group that had moved through camp, and we could see Cloud over to ou left. Cappuccino’s had appeared to move to the front ridges.

Image

 

We decided to drive a little and see if we could see anyone new.  We were able to find Jackson’s band.  It was good to see Jackson, and even without Heritage and Jasmine he still has a nice sized band.  In my opinion, Firestorm looks pregnant. I would say Brumby does also, but she has burned me before.  Galena didn’t look as much like she was to me.

DSC_0054 DSC_0055 DSC_0063 DSC_0073 DSC_0078 DSC_0083

DSC_0084 DSC_0095 DSC_0111 DSC_0115 DSC_0121 DSC_0124

DSC_0134 DSC_0137 DSC_0145 DSC_0148

Also in the area was Mescalero again.  Half Moon probably isn’t pregnant as Mescalero tried to breed her.  The look on her face didn’t seem impressed, and Missoula came over to say he wasn’t, either.

DSC_0044

DSC_0130

DSC_0132

On the way home, we routed by McCullough Peak HMA.  We were able to find a band near the road.  The mares were Tecumseh’s, but a black horse that may be Saguaro was leading them and fighting off another stallion.

DSC_0152 DSC_0153

DSC_0166 DSC_0168 DSC_0171 DSC_0174 DSC_0178 DSC_0180 DSC_0189

DSC_0203 DSC_0204

While we could see some horses out in an area I have not learned the roads to yet, we were able to find one lone stallion before heading home.

DSC_0212 DSC_0215

4 thoughts on “Easter Weekend 3 – Saturday

  1. Pretty sure that is Saguaro — you can see his small star in one of the shots. And that is definitely Garth. He has that big circle spot on his left side. Will be interesting to find out what happened with Tecumseh.

    That early morning shot of Galena is a welcome sight. Thanks again for taking us with you! 🙂

  2. I agree that Galena is probably not pregnant. She’s usually close to foaling around now. Unless she’s just pregnant for a foal later in the year. Not a bad thing though that she’s getting a year off. I’d like to see Firestorm get a year off, but doesn’t look like it will be this year. Firestorm’s foals are always gorgeous, so I do look forward to this one. I think I’m hoping for a blue roan one this year. So was Broken Bow kind of floating around. She seems like she was near Jackson’s band too. I’m sure she’ll be back with Doc soon, especially if that’s where Demure is. I’m hoping Half Moon will go back too. It’s kind of sweet to see Missoula trying to stand up for his Mom. I wonder though if that keeps happening if Mescalero will try to chase him off and kick him out. With Half Moon not seeming to be impressed with Mescalero and really having no ties to him I would anticipate that he wouldn’t be able to keep her if he decided to chase Missoula off. We shall see.

Leave a comment